Namibia at a glance

Namibia at a Glance




Geographical Area

  • 824,269 km² making Namibia the 31st largest country in the world
  • It stretches for about 1,300 km from south to north and varies from 480 to 930 km in width from west to east.
  • The country is divided into 14 regions, the Zambezi, Kavango West & East, Kunene, Omusati, Ohangwena, Oshana and Oshikoto regions in the north, the Omaheke, Otjozondjupa, Erongo and Khomas Regions in the central areas and the Hardap and Karas regions in the south.

Geographical Location

  • Vast, sparsely populated country located on the south-western sea board of Africa.
  • Bordering Angola in the north, Botswana and Zimbabwe in the east, South Africa in the south and the Atlantic Ocean in the west.
  • The oldest desert in the world, the Namib Desert stretches along the whole west coast of the country, while the Kalahari Desert runs along the south eastern border with Botswana.


  • Arid and semi-arid.
  • Hottest months, November to February (average temperatures 20-36 ºC).
  • Colder months between May and August (average temperatures 6-10 ºC in the mornings and 18-22 ºC during the day).


  • 2.113 million (2011 census).
  • Population Growth Rate is 1.9%.
  • Relatively youthful population with 38% of the population under 15 years of age and only 7% over 60 years.
  • Despite rapid urbanisation, Namibia is still a mainly rural society with only 43% of the population living in urban areas.
  • Regional population densities vary enormously with almost two-thirds of the population living in four of the northern regions and less than one tenth of the population living in the south.

Time Zones

  • First Sunday in April to first Sunday in September: GMT + 1 hour.
  • October to March – GMT + 2 hours.

Electric Current

  • 220 - 250 VAC 50 Hz


  • Metric System

International Telephone Code

  • + 264 + area code + number required.

Business Hours

  • Offices: Monday to Friday, 08h00 to 17h00.
  • Banks: Monday to Friday, 09h00 to 15h30 and Saturdays, 08h30 to 12h00.


  • Namibian Dollar (N$) which is 1:1 on par with the South African Rand (R).
  • Major foreign currencies and travellers cheques are easily exchangeable while major credit cards such as Visa, Master Card, American Express and Diners Club are acceptable means of payment.

Currency Regulations

  • Namibia is part of the Common Monetary Area, which includes Lesotho, South Africa and Swaziland.
  • Remittance of dividends to non-resident shareholders.
  • Repatriation of capital
  • Freedom of movement for non-resident capital transactions.
  • Free repatriation of income/dividends earned on such investments.
  • Corporations can invest directly abroad.
  • Institutional investors may engage in asset swap transactions.


  • English is the official language.


  • Secular state but over 90% of population is Christian.


  • Windhoek (administrative, judicial and legislative capital).